club competitions

Club Championships (men and women, various divisions)

  • This annual competition is the premier event in Titirangi's calendar. The championships consist of a strokeplay event, the first round being the matchplay qualifying round, and the matchplay itself. The matchplay winner in the open division is the overall Club Champion.

Ballin Cup (men and women)

  • Donated by Fred Ballin in 1932. A popular figure and enthusiastic golfer, Fred donated the cup 'for contest' and has been one of the club's premier events for both men and women since then. The format is individual handicap matchplay: a qualifying round, followed by the top 16 going into a seeded draw.

Gardner Cup (men)

  • Donated by Rice Gardner in 1912. Rice was club champion in 1911 & 1913 and club captain in the 1920s. Rice and his brother Charles were entrepreneurs and prominent local figures - Charles was the first mayor of New Lynn Borough Council. Land for the golf course was purchased from the Gardner brothers, with a very generous mortgage period, and they both purchased life memberships which helped provide funds for the development of the course when Dr Alister MacKenzie arrived.  The format is an individual nett one-day event (usually held in May). 

Thomson Bowl (women)

  • The trophy was presented by the first President of the Titirangi Ladies' Golf Club, Mrs W.J.A. Thomson, in 1932. The format is individual handicap matchplay, with a qualifying round. 16 qualify, based on nett scores.

Taylor Bowl (men)

  • Donated by G.L.Lawrence Taylor. Club captain from 1916 to 1918 and Club President from 1918 to 1928. Lawrence Taylor also took up one of the life memberships offered in 1918 (see Gardner Cup above) helping to fund course development. Format is handicap matchplay off the Blue tees.

Rex George & Oliver Hollis trophy (mixed pairs)

  • One day event - handicap - pairs best ball.
  • Matchplay event - handicap best ball matchplay.

Alister MacKenzie Trophy (teams of 10)

  • The club's premier social golfing competition. A handicap matchplay competition played over 3 Sundays.
  • Teams of 10 players - Round 1 foursomes (alternate shots); Round 2 pairs best ball; Round 3 singles.  
  • Dinner follows play on each day; quiz night on Round 2 day; winning team receives the Alister MacKenzie trophy.